The 2013 Malibu is available in eight models spread among four trim levels: the base LS, three LT models and two versions each of the Eco and LTZ.


Standard and optional equipment differs for all eight, so you should pay a visit to the Malibu report in the Research section, here, to educate yourself on what is new on the redesigned 2013 line. The best way to compare the different trim levels is to click on the Features & Specs tab to see a comprehensive list of what is standard, optional and not available on each model.

One of the key differences is engine availability. A 2.5-liter four-cylinder is standard on the LS, 1LT, 2LT and 1LTZ. A turbocharged 2.0-liter is standard on the 3LT and 2LTZ, and the mild-hybrid Eco models come with a 2.4-liter four-cylinder. The engines are tied to specific models, so you can’t order an optional engine. All models come with a six-speed automatic transmission and front-wheel drive.

Learn more

Answered by Rick Popely on January 4, 2013 in Chevrolet , Chevrolet Malibu , What Car Should I Buy? | Permalink

Search Results Search Results for


See if your question has already been asked and answered

Thank You!

Your question has been successfully submitted to It will now be reviewed by our editors and we'll answer it soon if we think it's a useful question. You will be notified via e-mail when the answer is posted. tackles your questions about new cars and the car-buying process. Unfortunately we can't answer questions regarding:

  • Used cars.
  • Most aftermarket products.
  • Mechanical issues. You can visit our friends at Car Talk to discuss your mechanical problems.
Thanks for your interest.


Have our experts answer any of your questions about new cars.

Email us at

Maintenance Advice
Get answers from the
Car Talk Community