Luxury automakers primarily offer adaptive cruise control, but the feature isn’t completely foreign to automakers like Ford, Toyota or Hyundai. For 2010, the Ford Taurus, Toyota Avalon and Hyundai Genesis can be equipped with adaptive cruise control.

On those cars, the feature is only available on more-expensive trim levels. Only the Ford Taurus Limited and SHO trim levels can be optioned with the feature. Similarly, the Toyota Avalon Limited and Hyundai Genesis 4.6 are the only trims where active cruise control can be had. The feature isn’t cheap, either, as it commonly costs $1,500 or more. Taurus-cruise

Entry-level luxury models that have optional adaptive cruise control include the Audi A4, BMW 328i, Lexus IS250 and Infiniti G37.   

Adaptive cruise control detects when the equipped vehicle is approaching traffic and will automatically apply brakes to keep a safe, pre-determined, distance. Once traffic clears, the set speed will resume. There are many names for the feature: Infiniti’s is Intelligent Cruise Control, Toyota calls theirs Dynamic Laser Cruise Control, Hyundai’s name is Smart Cruise Control and BMW’s is Dynamic Cruise Control.  

Learn more

Answered by Joe Bruzek on November 16, 2009 in How Does That Work? , I'm Just Wondering , What Car Should I Buy? | Permalink

Search Results Search Results for


See if your question has already been asked and answered

Thank You!

Your question has been successfully submitted to It will now be reviewed by our editors and we'll answer it soon if we think it's a useful question. You will be notified via e-mail when the answer is posted. tackles your questions about new cars and the car-buying process. Unfortunately we can't answer questions regarding:

  • Used cars.
  • Most aftermarket products.
  • Mechanical issues. You can visit our friends at Car Talk to discuss your mechanical problems.
Thanks for your interest.


Have our experts answer any of your questions about new cars.

Email us at

Maintenance Advice
Get answers from the
Car Talk Community